Why I Gave Up

Why I Gave Up
Why I Gave Up

You probably thought the opposite of what this article is about.  But it’s not about me giving up on life or projects.  It’s about giving up the need for control.

For years I attempted to control things that are impossible to. Everything but my own self.  That means constant friction and frustration.  We all know that the only thing we can control is ourselves.  So why do some of us continue to work so hard to do it?

I finally began learning that most of my misery was coming from this trying to control everything.  And the underlying reason is nothing but fear.  Fear of abandonment, rejection, pain, being left behind or left out, and fear of losing control over your own self.

As soon as I started practicing “giving up” and letting go of that tight grip, I began feeling a sense of freedom.  It felt so good that it motivated me to work harder at giving up and letting go. I started realizing that as much as I thought I was controlling these things, I really wasn’t after all.

I’m still working on it and have a ways to go to get to where I’d like to be, but there is definite and recognizable improvement.  So, give up and let go but know the difference between those things you can change or control and those you cannot.

In the Positive Zone

Leave me a Comment

