I Say Yes to New Oppurtunities

11924356_524309841052123_8538949187906998543_o

It was this past year while on vacation at a Jimmy Buffett Resort called Margarittaville, that I made a comment about something at the resort to my friend.  I guess that got her to thinking about it.  She mentioned to me that it gave her an idea about something that could really help people.   I didn’t think much of it at first.  It was kind of like one of those fleeting type thoughts we all get at time when we think of something that someone should invent to make life easier. You think about it for a second or two and then it’s long gone.  We don’t ever really give it any more thought simply because we think it’s either too far fetched or we’re not one of those inventor type people.

She talked about it for a bit while we were on the beach.  I didn’t say much because I had those fleeting thoughts that that’s all it was, a thought.  It wasn’t until the return trip home that I started saying to myself “what if she starts really pursuing this idea and it works and I missed out?” That’s when I said to her “you know, I’ve been thinking and it really does sound like something that would work.”  We talked about it a little further and got a little excited about the idea of it all.

When we got back, in the next several days, we decided to go ahead and go to a Patent Attorney my husband knows.  After our initial meeting with him, we knew that we were really going to do this.  We got down to business and came up with a name for our company and our product.  Currently, the patent pending and the trademark name is in the process.  We are totally excited about this.  We are set to work with a manufacturer for a couple days coming soon.  We can do this!

The point of this story is that I initially shrugged the whole thing off.  I didn’t think I could be a part of such a possibility.  I didn’t have too much faith.  I doubted.  I almost missed a chance to grab onto an opportunity handed to me.  Don’t let fear or doubt stop you from taking such steps.  Don’t ever shrug off a great idea because you think you’re not capable of pulling it off. Ask yourself questions like “if all these every day ordinary people step out in faith why can’t I?” Just do it.  Don’t over analyze what could or could not work, just go for it.  Take a step out of your comfort zone and be willing to take a risk.  You never know where it could take you.

In the Positive Zone

Leave me a Comment

