Life as a Worry Wart

Stop_worrying_so_much_quote146

Do you obsessively worry?  Are you aware when you’re doing it or is it one of those deeply ingrained habits?  Some people worry just because it feels comfortable.  They don’t know how to live without some kind of worry.  They’ve done it for so long it’s second nature.  They worry about the tiniest insignificant things.  But it feels normal to them to do that.  Eventually, the stress shows up in physical ways like stomach ulcers, digestive problems, anxiety disorders, OCD, and other ailments.  So, how do you stop it?

Well, I’ve dealt with the worry problem ever since I can remember.  I finally caught onto to something that really made a difference in stopping the worry habit.  You can’t actually stop thoughts from entering your mind but you can definitely control how long they stay there.  Here’s just one example of what I started doing that helped:

I was on the road traveling for a little vacation time and kept having consistent worry thoughts about something back home that I had no control over.  I didn’t like that feeling.  I wanted to be able to enjoy the trip and enjoy the conversation with who I was with.  One little trick seemed to work the rest of the time I was gone.  I simply told myself that I would think about that worry thought later, right now I want to enjoy what I’m doing and really be in the moment and watch the road, of course.  That was all it took for me.  I stopped the worry thought.  And each time that it tried to come back in my mind, I said the same thing over to myself again.  I don’t know why such a simple thing like that could work, but it did.

You may have other tricks that work for you and if so, please do share for others to benefit.  I would love to hear them.

In the Positive Zone

Leave me a Comment

