Social Anxiety Looks Weird. I Get It. | Mamalode

Anyone else suffer with this debilitating problem, Social Anxiety?  Unless you have it, there’s just no way to explain the feelings we go through or why they’re there.  It can be torture at times.  You go through phases of actually hating yourself because you can’t seem to shake it no matter what you do or how badly you want it to go away.  Others tend to assume you are either a snob or just plain anti-social.  I grew up this way and the school days were extremely difficult.  I just did the best I could. Back then, I couldn’t understand what was wrong with me.  Why couldn’t I be like my best friend who had not even an inkling of anxiety when walking into a group of people, or could go to the dances or parties other kids had and enjoy themselves.

It’s something I still struggle with today only I’ve learned how to accept myself a little better.  I’ve also learned that by pushing myself into these terrifying events that my anxiety levels actually decrease in the long run. I mean, I’m going to have anxiety no matter what I do anyway, so might as well challenge myself while I’m at it.  And though I’ve been working on this for quite some time, it’s still there and possibly will never leave.  But I know that I can learn how to cope with it better.  The following story below is from someone who has a slightly different type of social anxiety as mine.  Mine is in the form of any type of groups.  No problem one on one situations or starting up a conversation with a stranger.  Read on…..

It’s not that I don’t like people. It’s just that when they talk to me, my body goes haywire.

Source: Social Anxiety Looks Weird. I Get It. | Mamalode

Leave me a Comment

